This isn’t funny.

I write these words barely 24 hours after two more shootings by police officers have made the news.

This blog is largely dedicated to two things: politics and humor.

But the most recent offenses against basic civil liberties makes such a task hopelessly inappropriate if not impossible.

So I’m taking a brief break from posting until I regain my bearings.  You see…

  • I’m not black, but a lot of my family is.  

  • I don’t routinely get profiled, but a lot of my family does.  

  • I don’t usually get pulled over by police, but a lot of my relatives do.  

  • Never have I felt that I had cause to fear for my life during a routine police encounter, but a lot of my relatives have more and more reasons to feel that way with every passing day.

I have no magic formula to address this ever-growing parade of meaningless and unnecessary tragedy, but something must be done.

It must be addressed, and with an urgency normally reserved for destructive forces of nature.

That’s all: it MUST be addressed.  Inaction is NOT an option.

Every day this tragic panoply of homicidal shame continues, the United States of America drifts further and further away from the ideals upon which this country was founded.

I’m an American and I love the land of my birth, but today I am ashamed.

Black lives matter.

Female lives matter.

Working poor lives matter.

Homeless lives matter.

Muslim lives matter.

LBGTQ lives matter.

Every American in some way or other belongs to some kind of minority and every one of their lives matter.  

No exceptions.

Now what are we going to do about it?

About jaypochapin

Married adult human male, father, brother, son, writer, voiceover actor and humorist. Frequently funny, sometimes snarky, occasionally profound. Beatles, Stones, Who, Python, Firesign Theatre, Shakespeare, Bogart/Bacall, Marx Brothers, Alice Cooper and more besides. Have worked as many things: traffic reporter, disc jockey, newscaster, interviewer, producer, copywriter, voice over talent, teacher, emcee, housekeeper, janitor, uniformed security officer, bagel baker's assistant and more, but don't let the uniform fool you, baby! I ... AM ... THE WRITER!

Leave a Reply

