RSDS: Costumes on Parade!

When I was a child, I delighted in dressing up for Halloween. At different stages I went “Trick-or-Treating” from house to house as a pack of cigarettes, as Thomas Jefferson, and as a grandfather clock.

As an adult, I once went to a party wearing a partial face mask that made me look somewhat like a monkey and several years later had myself made up to look like a vampire long before vampires became fashionable. I even went out and bought a deep blue cape!

Nowadays, such choices seem most unimaginative as Rick Stevens points out in this latest installment of his “Diesel Sweeties” comic:

r-stevens-diesel-sweeties-arial-for-halloween

Sure some costumes are puns, while others may be more… metaphorical:

r-stevens-diesel-sweeties-2016-halloween-costume

About 14 years ago, as an adult homeowner for the first time in my life, I distributed treats from my front door, but I chose to do so in character.

Having long admired Alice Cooper‘s music and stage show, I obtained a cheap long-hair “rock star” wig and the cheapest black and white makeup kit I could find.

I applied plenty of clown white makeup and then blacked out my eye sockets, drew the frown, handed out candy at the door and nobody so much as commented.

At least not about ME.

The black cat with whom I lived at the time got a few compliments, however. I actually had to explain to one little fairy princess that, although he was indeed cool, I had not merely picked him up for the occasion and that he actually lived with me all year round.

You will be relieved to learn that the one or two photos taken that night have been lost to the ages.

Okay that’s all for now! Your support of this simple blog is always appreciated; I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Come as you are!

monogram-for-the-coffin

About jaypochapin

Married adult human male, father, brother, son, writer, voiceover actor and humorist. Frequently funny, sometimes snarky, occasionally profound. Beatles, Stones, Who, Python, Firesign Theatre, Shakespeare, Bogart/Bacall, Marx Brothers, Alice Cooper and more besides. Have worked as many things: traffic reporter, disc jockey, newscaster, interviewer, producer, copywriter, voice over talent, teacher, emcee, housekeeper, janitor, uniformed security officer, bagel baker's assistant and more, but don't let the uniform fool you, baby! I ... AM ... THE WRITER!

Leave a Reply

