For My Mom

On January 8, 2017…

I just want to say that I have always loved you, even when I didn’t know how to say so.  Even when I didn’t know why to say so; even when I didn’t know when to say so; even when I didn’t know whether to say so.

There were so many times when I should have reached out across the gulf of time and space, of inches and yards and miles and weeks and months and years.  There were places I could have been, persons I could have been, things I could have been.

And yet I loved you, even as you loved me and neither of us could say the words that we found too dear to speak aloud.

And you have done so much and you have done so well.  You have forgiven so much and without regard to what might been. You have done so very well indeed.

Please rest in the LORD; you have rightfully earned your place.

I love you.

monogram-for-the-coffin

About jaypochapin

Married adult human male, father, brother, son, writer, voiceover actor and humorist. Frequently funny, sometimes snarky, occasionally profound. Beatles, Stones, Who, Python, Firesign Theatre, Shakespeare, Bogart/Bacall, Marx Brothers, Alice Cooper and more besides. Have worked as many things: traffic reporter, disc jockey, newscaster, interviewer, producer, copywriter, voice over talent, teacher, emcee, housekeeper, janitor, uniformed security officer, bagel baker's assistant and more, but don't let the uniform fool you, baby! I ... AM ... THE WRITER!

Leave a Reply

