Trump, Voltaire & Proust?

Hello, everybody!  It’s time once again for the one-fingered typing tutorial, in which our hero (that would be me) tries to craft a series of interesting and articulate sentences without losing grasp of the idea(s) he wanted to express in the first place back when the sentence began.

I’m serious.  This a real and genuine problem.  But then at my stage of life, anything that exercises and strengthens short-term memory is a good thing.

Unless we’re talking about #45.

You know, Old Don. The Supreme Comb-over. Melania’s federal Sugar Daddy and Trust Fund Baby Daddy?

Tha-hat’s the one!

Back on “Star Trek: The Next Generation”, the super-villainous Borg were fond of threatening everyone they came into contact with with the quickly-hackneyed phrase that “Resistance is futile.”

Everybody.

Even the baristas at Starbucks (“Hey, that’s OUR motto!”)

Even the poor schmuck who delivered from Pizza Hut (“Okay, so that’s 2,000 pepperoni, 3,000 meat-lovers, 500 cheese-lovers… and one thin and crispy crust with anchovies and black olives…”

“Oh really?  No tip?  Dude, that’s not resistance, that’s just messed up…”)

Please excuse me for a second while I scroll back up just far enough to remind myself where me and my finger were going with this.

Right, got it, the President-Defect, old what’s-his-face…

Okay, well, the New Administration may WISH they commanded the kind of sang froid normally associated with the Borg, but it turns out there’s a big difference between what’s futile and what is merely juvenile…

The art of cartoonery above is the product of Mark Kaufman and the writers at the editorial cartoon website, http://www.thenib.com.  Much of the art that you see here comes to my attention through their website, so I recommend it highly…

And now, let’s lighten the mood somewhat, shall we?  I know, let’s check in with everybody’s favorite homicidal red robot!…

ds225

Oh, Rick Stevens, what hath thou wrought?…

ds222

And now, let us once again careen back toward the world of current events…

ds226

I am – as always – immensely grateful to Rick Stevens, whose art regularly appears here with his permission. “Diesel Sweeties” is, IMHO, the “Peanuts” of its generation and Stevens is their Charles Schulz.

And I?

Why, I am Voltaire! (Assuming you are willing to overlook the nagging details of culture, creativity, language and that whole typing-with-one-finger thing…)

On the other hand I DO tend to do a lot of my writing reclining in bed…

Do you suppose I could be Marcel Proust?

monogram-for-the-coffin

About jaypochapin

Married adult human male, father, brother, son, writer, voiceover actor and humorist. Frequently funny, sometimes snarky, occasionally profound. Beatles, Stones, Who, Python, Firesign Theatre, Shakespeare, Bogart/Bacall, Marx Brothers, Alice Cooper and more besides. Have worked as many things: traffic reporter, disc jockey, newscaster, interviewer, producer, copywriter, voice over talent, teacher, emcee, housekeeper, janitor, uniformed security officer, bagel baker's assistant and more, but don't let the uniform fool you, baby! I ... AM ... THE WRITER!

Leave a Reply

